Skip to content
College of Public Affairs


Just a little bit of bragging about our faculty, staff, students and alumni.

  • Kathleen Block (School of Criminal Justice), associate professor, moderated two student panel sessions at the Maryland Consortium of Criminal Justice College Educators second annual conference, Careers in Criminal Justice, April 12 at the Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commissions Public Safety Education and Training Center in Sykesville, Md. Two UB students presented papers reporting their research: Jennifer Burton, graduate student, presented An Evaluation of Safe Haven Laws: Protecting Infants from Abandonment, and Hajar Martin, undergraduate student, presented Mental Health Courts for Mentally Ill Offenders: Are They Effective?
  • Patria Julnes (School of Public and International Affairs), was decorated by Spanish Ambassador D. Ramón Gil-Casares Satrústegui with the Officers Cross of the Order of Isabel the Catholic, April 22. In a very special ceremony at ambassadors residence in Washington, D.C., he bestowed the cross on behalf of King Juan Carlos I of Spain, who is the grand master of the order. Julnes was chosen to receive the cross because of her work as president of the Asociación de Líderes Hispanos (Hispanic Leaders Association), for which she has led an effort to coordinate, in collaboration with Spanish and U.S. organizations, a number of activities to help strengthen the relationship between Spain and the United States, to improve the status of Hispanics in the United States and to promote Spanish culture in this country. The Order of Isabel the Catholic aims to reward extraordinary civilian behavior for the benefit of Spain or to honor those whose contributions promote friendly relations and cooperation between Spain and the international community.

    Julnes was named to The Daily Record s 2013 list of Marylands Top 100 Women. The Daily Record, Marylands business and legal newspaper, announced this year’s honorees March 1. Created in 1996, this program recognizes outstanding achievement by women who have demonstrated significant professional accomplishments, outstanding community leadership and inspirational mentoring; more than 1,000 women have been honored to date.
  • The Roper Victim Assistance Academy of Maryland (School of Criminal Justice), led by Debra L. Stanley , professor, and executive director in the University of Baltimores School of Criminal Justice, in partnership with the University, received a 2013 Governors Victim Assistance Award for Outstanding Contribution to Victim Services, according to the Maryland State Board of Victim Services.

    The award recognizes outstanding work done in the area of victim advocacy and services that exceeds expected work responsibilities, and exemplifies a high level of commitment and dedication to the field of victims rights and services and to the victims themselves, according to the Governors Office for Crime Control and Preventions website. In 2012, Gov. Martin OMalley signed into law a bill proclaiming April 3 as Crime Victims and Advocates Commemorative Day to recognize those who have been crime victims and to honor the advocates who serve those victims.

    The academy graduated its class of 2013 on April 19, celebrating a decade of teaching victimology, victims rights and services, and victim advocacy through an intensive, 40-hour education program. Led and coordinated by School of Criminal Justice faculty and staff and in partnership with the College of Public Affairs, the award-winning academy was created along with others across the country with the help of federal funding. Many such programs disappeared when that funding dried up, but Maryland has created a strong, ongoing academy funded through a regular line in the state budget. Roper Victim Assistance Academy of Maryland staff include: Deborah Bradley, Linda Fair, Heather Pfeifer, Debra Stanley, Dave Thomas and Elaine Witman.
  • Jeffrey Ian Ross (School of Criminal Justice), professor, edited the Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America (Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2013) an also authored four entries: Baltimore, Street Art, Urban Ethnography and Washington, DC.
  • Charles Tumosa (School of Criminal Justice), clinical assistant professor, published with co-author M.F. Mecklenburg a paper, Oils: The Chemistry of Drying Oils and the Potential for Solvent Disruption, and with co-authors M.F. Mecklenburg and E.P. Vincenzi another paper, The Influence of Pigments and Ion Migration on the Durability of Drying Oil and Alkyd Paints, both in New Insights into the Cleaning of Paintings (M.F. Mecklenburg, A.E. Charola and R.J. Kostler, eds., Smithsonian Contributions to Museum Conservation No. 3, Washington DC [2013] pp. 51-58 and 59-68). They are part of the Smithsonian Institutions Contributions to Museum Conservation Series.
  • The Schaefer Center for Public Policy , with the Institute for Governmental Service and Research at the University of Maryland, College Park, and the Institute for Public Administration at the University of Delaware, co-hosted the Southern Consortium of University Public Service Organizations annual conference, April 10-13. The conference brought together 46 directors and staff members of university-based public service organizations throughout the southern United States. College of Public Affairs Dean Steve Percy served as one of the opening session’s panelists, speaking on how universities approach public service and applied research. Brian P. Darmody, UMCP’s associate vice president for research and economics, and Delaware’s Daniel Rich, professor of public policy, joined Percy on the panel. Memo Diriker from BEACON at Salisbury University gave the luncheon keynote speech discussing economic trends and the impact of the federal budget on the South and Mid-Atlantic regions.

    Kristi Grimes, Schaefer Center graduate fellow, and Kathleen Ford received Turner Research and Travel Awards to attend the 2013 annual conference of the Society for Industrial & Organizational Psychology in Houston, Texas.

    Schaefer Center graduate fellows Grimes, Elise Major, Laurie-Anne Sayles and Elena Timusheva received the Senator Joseph V. Mach Wilson Scholarship from the Schaefer Center for Public Policy for the 2012-13 academic year.